Return to Headlines

State Board Decision Moves Normandy Closer to Elected School Board

JEFFERSON CITY, MO -- The Missouri State Board of Education voted today to begin Normandy Schools Collaborative’s transition from an appointed school board to an elected one. 

The current Normandy Joint Executive Governing Board (JEGB) consists of seven members appointed by the State Board of Education. During today’s meeting, the state BOE voted to replace two of the appointed Normandy Board members with members elected by the public. 

The public will vote for candidates for the JEGB on the April 5, 2022 ballot. Individuals who wish to run as a candidate must apply within the next three weeks. Per state statute § 162.083, RSMo, the filing period for the April election begins today (December 7) and closes on Tuesday, December 28. Candidates must be residents of the Normandy Schools Collaborative geographic footprint. Per the Missouri School Board Association, school board candidates must meet the following requirements: 

  • A U.S. citizen.
  • A resident taxpayer of a district or voters of the district in urban districts.
  • A resident of Missouri for at least one year.
  • At least 24 years old.

“The community’s voice is critical to the improvement and progress of a school district,” said Marcus C. Robinson, Normandy Superintendent of Schools. “We have been fortunate to have extremely talented and devoted public servants volunteer to provide oversight for our district. This change will allow even more diversity of thought from our community and help us better meet the needs of students and families.” 

As two members will be elected to the board in April 2022, two current members will step down. Mike Jones, former state BOE member and long-time civic leader, was appointed to the JEGB in April 2021. Sara Foster, an executive with Commerce Bancshares and Normandy alumna, has served on the JEGB since 2017. The elected board was dissolved when the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education dissolved the Normandy School District in 2014.          

“Mike and Sara are fine examples of the board members we have been fortunate to work with,” Robinson continued. “They’ve challenged us but always with the singular goal of keeping our students at the forefront of our decisions and programs. We thank them for their service to our community.”

Jones and Foster will serve on the board until June 30, 2022. The newly elected members will join the JEGB at the April 2022 board meeting.

For residents who would like to run for one of the two seats on the JEGB, please contact the JEGB Secretary Alexandria Barnett at 314-493-0400 or by email, Information is also available at the Normandy website,