• April 2019 - JEGB Public Recognition

    Posted by Sharifah Sims-Williams on 4/10/2019

    board members with second grade student Dominick Turner, second grader at Jefferson elementary school. Dominick earned 1st place in the AAU state wrestling championship.






    The CASA Cares program is the service learning arm of the high school’s Center for casa students with school board Academic and Social Advancement or CASA. Last fall, the students saw the news coverage of Hurricane Michael and wanted to help those affected so they planned and implemented a personal care/toy drive for residents in the southeast portion of the country. They promoted, collected and are in the process of shipping the items to Florida. Pictured here with JEGB members are Jenise Williams and James Currie III. Other CASE students involved were:  Danielle Small, Donnie Thomas Iii, Darren Santiago Jr., Pierre Davis, and Mazzie Hughes


    Comments (-1)
  • JEGB Public Recognition - Jan. 2019

    Posted by Bridjes O'Neil on 1/15/2019

    powell and normandy board


    Congratulations to Dr. Jacqueline Powell for earning her doctorate degree from Maryville University. Dr. Powell, who serves as the lead counselor at Normandy High School, earned her degree in Educational Administration.


    Comments (-1)
  • JEGB Public Recognition - Dec. 2018

    Posted by Sharifah Sims-Williams on 1/14/2019

    troupe with normandy board

    Congratulations to Mrs. Evie Troupe, who is the 2018 Emerson Excellence in Teaching awardee for Normandy. Mrs. Troupe is the Library Media Specialist and recently returned to teach 6th grade at Washington for a temporary basis. Mrs. Troupe was recognized among her peers last month at a ceremony downtown.

    Vivian Johnson secured a $500 grant from the Monsanto Fund FIRST Robotics program. Ms. Johnson is a teacher at the Normandy 7th-8th Grade Center. Ms. Johnson also received a grant from the Challenger Learning Center in Ferguson, which will go toward a field trip for students at the 7th-8th Grade Center. They will participate in the Expedition Mars program there.

    LaTricia Clark recently presented as part of the National Youth Summit on Education, Justice and the Economy held at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. Ms. Clark’s topic was Education & Social Justice: Is This a Myth or Reality the School to Prison Pipeline? Ms. Clark serves as the ELA instructional coach at the Normandy High School.

    This year’s honorees for the Iota Phi Lambda Apple for the Teacher Award are Audrey Woods, Desiree Green and Dr. Christopher Young-El. Mrs. Woods is a fourth-grade teacher at Lucas Crossing Elementary. Mrs. Green is the Fashion Design teacher at the high school. Dr. Young-El is principal of the Normandy 7th-8th Grade Center. The trio was honored at the Sorority’s luncheon and awards program last month. 

    Comments (-1)